Six Characters in Search of a Blogger


Week 9: Googling Myself–the Me’s I Could Have Been
January 5, 2009, 8:30 am
Filed under: The Me's I Could Have Been | Tags: , , , , , ,

 

When I think about the New Year, I Google myself.

When I think about the New Year, I Google myself.

The turning of the New Year, for me, is always a bit bittersweet.  As each one passes, and I look forward to the next, fabricating and forgetting resolutions, I am struck by a certain amount of regret.  I’m at the stage in my life where I can see the paths not taken, and wonder where they would have led me if I had had a little less fear.  A little more gumption.  Or an innate GPS system.

So once in a while, I Google myself, just for fun.  Any trace of me has long since left the internet, or I am buried so far down I lose patience as I dig; it’s because I have one of those names that is fairly common, at least in my neck of the woods.  A quick search in Massachusetts on whitepages.com suggest that there are at least 132 of me in the state–rather daunting results.  At least for someone who used to think of herself as being pretty unique.

But what’s fun is that, for a moment, I get to imagine myself in those identities, those professions, in those varied Google guises, and try to conjure in my mind what those alternate existences might be like.  In most cases, I rather enjoy what my namesakes have been up to–interestingly enough, they’ve chosen lives for themselves that aren’t so far from dreams I once had.  Or might have had, in the right circumstances. 

So if you don’t mind, this week, I’m going to do just that:  dream a little.  Entertain possibilities.  I’ll feature the me’s I could have been–and heck!  Could still be, if I play my cards right.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

